Kathleen Hoyt

Official site for the children's storybook author Kathleen Hoyt. Her first book, Kerloon & Cooley, is available now!

Writing from the Heart

on June 15, 2012

My favorite children’s book author is Patricia Polacco.  Her book, Thank You, Mr. Falker,  tells the story of an artistic girl who cannot read, was bullied in school, and helped by a concerned teacher who recognized she might be dyslexic.  The title of the book reveals the real Mr. Falker, Patricia’s elementary school teacher that noticed her reading problem and worked with her after school everyday to help her learn how to read.  Patricia Polacco told her own story through the characters she created.  That’s writing from the heart.  All her stories are inspiring for both children and adults.

Kerloon and Cooley  is based on the Golden Rule.  During my years in teaching children,  that was the only rule I posted in my classroom. As I gained more experience as a teacher, I developed ways to create a safe classroom.  Children can’t learn if they don’t feel they’re in a safe environment. By providing experiences that developed trust and cooperation between the students they were able to recognize and value the philosophy of  “treat others the way you would like to be treated.”   You can find this philosophy stated in a variety of ways in every major religion.  I really enjoyed my time teaching children.  I taught from the heart, now I write from the heart. Kathleen

Leave a Reply

